All over the place…

I know I post a bit of random stuff up here, but hopefully, it’s all interesting stuff. I try to keep it consistent with art, travel and exploration, but I’ll often put a few other tidbits in there just to make sure it doesn’t get stagnant. The majority of this blog will be me sharing my stories, discoveries and journeys with those who aren’t able to get out there and do it themselves. But I will also share stories and information from people and projects that inspire ME. That’s why you see all these posts about The Exploratrice. It’s a very inspirational project and has actually pushed me to get back out there and do what I love.

Speaking of which…
I get my Land Rover back soon. ImageAnd you know what THAT means! Yep, I’ll be going back out on the road again sharing with you the stories and adventures of an America forgotten!

Back in 2010, my Vanishing America website (complete with 4 years of adventures, stories and imagery) got hacked by some teenagers playing a joke and I lost everything. My hosting service didn’t have proper security or a proper backup, so all we have left are my archives of images and a handful of blog posts that were recovered from the disaster (that’s what you get when you allow friends to do what should really be done by professionals). What that means is that I essentially have to start over. But, that’s okay. I love the places I’ve visited. And it will give me a chance to see if (and how) the places may have changed since my last visit. I’m not sure how I want to present the online version of The Vanishing America Project, but I do know that I’m going to keep it simple this time. It’s easier for me, and it’s easier for everyone else to follow.

I won’t be doing year-long trips like I did in BABS (my Big Ass Bus), but I will be doing short excursions of a few days to a couple of weeks. I’ll start out close to home (Chattanooga) and venture out as far as my funding and time off will allow.

If you know of a place neglected, abandoned or just plain “in danger” of disappearing forever, let me know! I love the discovery process. And if the timing is right, we can meet up on the road and you can be a part of the journey, too. I love meeting new people and learning about your little part of the world.

The goal here is to keep The Vanishing America Project alive and to share it with the rest of the world so that they, too, can be inspired to share and protect their own “vanishing” America.

Wanna play?

VA business card front copy

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IrEM1NrWfQQ

3 thoughts on “All over the place…

  1. Congratullations on your soon to be returned Land Rover!

    I used to buiy 4×4 magazine over here (UK) many years ago, must be nice to have made the front cover 🙂

    Looking forward to your blog updates on lost America. We have plenty of places in the UK that are vanishing fast with housing development wiping out great swathes of the British countryside and with many beautiful historic industrial buildings (Mines, steelworks, Mills and so on) all being torn down to make way for housing estates full of boring boxes.

    • Too cool. I think they did a 4-part series on our Carbon Neutral Expedition (the trip that sparked the cover shot), but I haven’t been able to get any copies.

      It’s kind of ironic, isn’t it? “Civilized” society prefers to tear down and rebuild, while much of the rest of the world cherishes their historic constructions. I wonder if it has anything to do with the sheer amount of history in those cultures (and the lack of history in America).

      • Yes, I think it also has to do with local government officials who will allow development/construction firms to pull down historic industrial buildings and replace with new in order to fulfill their new housing construction quotas set by central government. In many cases the Mills and historic old victorian buildings could be saved but it costs more to repair/renovate an old building than to build new, crazy as that sounds. Also the local councils/government make deals with the developers so that they get local road improvements paid for by the construction firm if they are given planning permission for new homes, this ‘deal’ often allows the developers to get their own way.

        Instead of controlling population growth and actually aiming to reduce population in the UK which is simply too high for the land area to support, government is still pushing to increase population and is actually demanding an extra 500K new homes be built in the next decade, many of those will be going on green field sites so the developers will clear trees, hedgerows and natural environment to build them. Then government wonder why we are currently suffering huge flooding issues – not surprising to us as there is no trees or hedges left to absorb the water or control its flow over the land.

Leave a Reply

