A few words…

Most of my posts lately have been “image of the day” posts showcasing one of my images with a little background story for each. But not this one. It’s time for a story… šŸ™‚

My 1994 Land Rover Defender 90I live the life of a “starving artist”. Not by choice, though (or is it?). Whatever. What I’m saying is that I don’t have a lot of cashflow at

My 1994 Land Rover Defender 90

the moment… but I’m getting there. In the meantime, my dream car — my 1994 Land Rover Defender 90 — sits at The Shop waiting for me to be able to pay its medical bills. I haven’t sat behind the wheel in over a year and I’m really anxious to get it back.

Originally, this D90 ran on a stock gas engine. When I began my Vanishing America Project, I swapped the gas motor out for a diesel motor so I could run on used vegetable oil collected from restaurants (see the full article on that project here).

I drove over 1500 miles on used veggie oil and then it started having some problems. I spent a lot of time and money trying to find a good mechanic who could work on this custom drivetrain before finally giving up and swapping out the diesel for a Chevy 350 LT1 fuel-injected gas engine from a

Chevy LT1 motor

Chevy LT1 motor

Camaro. Why the Chevy? Well, when I replaced the original gas motor with the diesel, I also replaced the stock transmission with a 5-speed transmission from a Chevy truck (there’s more to that part, but let’s just keep it this way for simplicity’s sake). So a Chevy motor is a perfect match for the transmission that’s already in the Defender.

And that’s where we sit today. The conversion is almost done. The Shop (yep, that’s the name of the shop) is just waiting on me to pay the balance and I can drive it home. And, guess what? I’ll be paying it off in a couple of weeks. That means I’ll have my dream car back in my grubby hands in time for Spring! I’m stoked.

Oh, you want to know how I got the money? It’s a matter of priorities. I sold some very expensive camera equipment from my collection. I didn’t want to, but I wanted the Defender back more than I wanted the cameras. Soon I’ll be “Equipt to Road trip.” I’ll keep ya posted…

Leave a Reply

