Shoot for Maxim Magazine

CatrinaSharp_20121214_0284bleachLOGO

How did this happen?

I’ve been trying to put together a new portfolio to help drum up some photography business during the holidays. One theme, in particular, was boudoir photos (bedroom/lingerie), since they seem to be a new trend with women lately. My intent was to shoot a couple of models to showcase in the portfolio, send out some marketing materials and start booking boudoir shoots for the weeks preceding Valentine’s Day. My first model, Heather, was a perfect choice. She’s glamorous, fun and somewhat experienced. We had also shot before and gotten some great images. So, we scheduled a shoot in an old attic above the restaurant where I used to work. The day before the shoot, she cancelled. She was hung over from a party the night before. So, we rescheduled. The day before the shoot, she cancelled again. This time, though, her father was in the hospital. So, we rescheduled once again. The day of the shoot, she cancelled a third time. She said she was not feeling well and had bags under her eyes. I found out later that she was out partying again and was hung over. So, I took her off the list forever. I understand the need to work around schedules and personal issues (especially in a shoot that isn’t paying), but my time is just as valuable as hers is and I was insulted that she would disrespect me and my time like that.

Catrina to the rescue

During this whole process, though, I’d been attempting to book a shoot with another friend, Catrina. She has a full-time job, is a mom and doesn’t model professionally, but Catrina recently got into great shape and has been doing shoots to show off her hard work (and hardbody). One of her previous shoots was accepted by Maxim Magazine and they asked her to do another. And she asked me if I would shoot it. I jumped on the opportunity. She’d seen my work, but had no idea what I was really capable of.Β  When she saw the results, she was blown away. πŸ™‚

It was a long day with no assistants for either of us (except for Catrina’s awesome boyfriend, Lee), but we made it work… and the results speak for themselves. I still need at least one more model to balance out the marketing materials, but this is a great start.

Went up to her boyfriend’s mountain cabin in Trenton, GA for a combination boudoir/snowbunny shoot. Here are some of the images we didn’t choose to send. Wait until you see the ones they did want! πŸ™‚

Epilogue

It’s interesting, though, to think about the timing here. It fits perfectly within the “10 Years Behind” theme of this blog.Β  This is something I should have gotten into 10 years ago when I discovered I could actually shoot as good as the pros. I could actually have been making a living at this by now. Oh well, better late than never, right? πŸ˜‰

(click on any image to see full-size)

3 thoughts on “Shoot for Maxim Magazine

    • Thanks Jenny. πŸ™‚
      It was cold up there on the mountain, so we lit a fire in the back deck fireplace to keep warm. The smoke seemed like a good idea, so we gave it a shot. I went into the woods, grabbed a few armloads of wet leaves, placed them on the fire and got a lot of smoke.The results were exactly what I had hoped for.

Leave a Reply

