Removing Labels

Okay, this is the kind of cool tidbit that you’ll find here from time to time. This one is about removing the label from a wine bottle… not to save the label, but rather to make for a pristine, label- and glue-free bottle.

I’ve done a fair amount of internet research on this subject (not to mention logged several hours of time experimenting on my own), so I was pleasantly surprised to find out that the simplest, least expensive method left all the other methods in the dust.

Peeling the label from a wine bottle by hand is just asking for a mess, so that method can be written off almost immediately. Using a “label saver” to peel the label off intact usually leaves some glue behind on the bottle, so that didn’t help either. I tried the “Goof Off” and “Goo Gone” commercial residue removers, I tried Acetone, I tried scraping with a razor, boiling water in the bottle, steel wool… the list goes on and on. But the one method that did work is the simplest of all — soaking the bottle in icewater. That’s it. That’s all. Icewater. Have you ever reached into a cooler full of icewater for a beer and the label comes off in your hand? Well, that’s really all we’re doing here. Pretty simple, right? After 10 minutes in the cold water, the glue that I could not remove with any other method came off with almost no effort. Now I have a beautiful, unmarred bottle. And there you have it… your handy-dandy tip for removing labels. šŸ™‚

Now, you may be asking yourself, “Self, what’s so important about having a clean bottle?” Well, I’m an artist… and a wine drinker… so I have about 50 or so wine bottles in several different colors and a multitude of shapes just sitting on top of my cupboard begging to become pieces of my next creation. I’ll use a few as candleholders, but the rest… that’s for the artist in me to decide. Hmm… what will I create..?

Leave a Reply

